OOP Drama

As some may know, I am not a big OOP fan.  I am more of “coding with objects” fan.  I tried to find somewhere on the internet that describes that, but I could not.  Looks like there is a paper in my future.

I read the PHP Internals list.  Its nice to keep up with what is going on.  I even contribute a morsel every now and then.  In the last week or so, I have seen several arguments about the OOP stuff in PHP.  Now, if we were talking about adding major features like {insert 1337 OOP thing here :) }, I could understand.  But, no, there was a gazillion (I counted) message thread about what to name a new class.  Followed by another thread about what to name another new class.

It comes down to this.  In the OOP world, you have the academics and the pracitalists (I think I made that word up).  The academics want the PHP OOP to work just like the theories say it  should.  While the practicalists want PHP to work like the other popular languages that are OOP based.  However, they both have a problem.  PHP’s OOP support is still way simpler than say C++ or Java.  Personally, I like it that way.  But, you can’t be academic and not have every facet of OOP covered.  You also can’t always expect PHP to act like C++, Java, Delphi, etc. for the same reason.

So, for me, I will stick to me good ol’ functions.  They work with very little fuss.  And when I come across something that needs an object, I will use one.

Comments are closed.

